Tags

, , ,

As part of Earth Month activities this April, GCC celebrates Bike Week, April 15-19.

Many Gaucho’s regularly commute to campus on bicycles. Judy Fleming, Supervisor of Library Access Services, rides 32 miles roundtrip three times a week, a commute she describes as, “70 relaxing minutes to get here (40 stressful minutes if I drive).”

photo of Judy Fleming and her bikeA resident of Surprise, Judy is able to travel to GCC on sidewalks and bike paths. “My challenge was finding a sidewalk across the Agua Fria river. There is only ONE, at Grand and Thunderbird. Now that I can get out of the West Valley I’ve discovered I can get about anywhere.”

And go anywhere is exactly what she does. “I ride recreationally on the weekends too…120-150 miles a week. It is fun, relaxing, builds strength and endurance, burns calories. It is chock full of benefits, both personally and for the environment.”

photo of Dr. Reavis biking to GCCDr. Robert Reavis, GCC Biology faculty member, says his one-mile bike commute to GCC really wakes him up each morning, and takes about as long as a car ride. “I moved close to campus the same year I was hired. I used to walk or ride about twice a week. After living in Japan last year-without a car-I really got used to greeting people and seeing the flowers and trees as part of my daily travels. Now, I bike to campus four times a week.”

Commuting to work or school on a bicycle reduces auto emissions, GCC largest source of pollution. During Bike Week all employees and students who bike to campus can receive a Commuter Club card for discounts on food, drinks and local services. Contact Nanette Espinocilla nanette.espinocilla@gccaz.edu.

